Niño Siso, 3 other netters complete main draw cast

By Caecent No-Ot Magsumbol

CEBU, Philippines - Bernardine "Niño" Siso and two other Cebuanos figured prominently in the qualifying round to make it to the main draw of the 5th Cebu Lhuillier Men’s Open Tennis yesterday at Baseline tennis courts.

Siso gained entry into the 32-man draw after he outlasted fellow Cebuano and birthday boy Christian “Babaw” Tiongko, 8-3.

Shanur Khandaker and Yoyoy Villa also hurdled their respesctive assignments to join Siso in the next, tougher phase of the week-long competition sanctioned by the Philippine Lawn Tennis Association (PHILTA).

Khandaker elbowed out Ofel Lascuna, 8-3, while Villa enjoyed a no-sweat victory over Dwight Montoya.

National University’s Almichael Madrio completed the list of qualifiers into the main draw after he overpowered Jun-Jun Tabura, 8-4.

Tabura still has something to look forward to as he and Siso gained wildcard entry in the doubles event along with Joshua Cano and Roderick Lazaro.

Following his impressive win over Tiongko, Siso is expected to walk on a rocky road as he faces next the 11th ranked Roel Capangpangan, in the same way with Khandaker and Villa, who will take on the fifth seed Ronard Joven and Archie Mano, respectively.

The rest of the pairings in the sudden-death main draw that will start today pits Madrio vs. Rolando Ruel, Roy Tabotabo vs. Jurence Mendoza, Franklin Encarnacion vs. Tony Sagansay, Israel Abarquez vs. Rollyto Litang, Jacob Lagman vs. Alex Lazaro, Kennex Abadia vs. Mark Alcoseba and Amiel Aya-ay vs. Onyok Anasta.

Publication: The Freeman
Date: April 17, 2012

Copyright © PJ LHUILLIER GROUP OF COMPANIES. All rights reserved