Top seeds in semifinals in 5th Cebuana Lhuillier tennis circuit

Written By: Contributor
Sunday, 22 April 2012
Category: Sports News

Cebu City — Three of the top four seeds advanced to the semifinal round of the 5th Cebuana Lhuillier tennis circuit at the Baseline tennis center over the weekend.

Showing the huge gap between the current No. 1 and the figure No. 1 Johnny Arcilla booted out Jurence Zosimo Mendoza with ease, 6-1, 6-4, to move to the semifinal round and get closer to defending his title and the P40,000 top purse.

”Johnny took the first set. In every match, once a player takes the first set, tumataas ang momentum. During the second set, gumaganda ang laban ko, marami akong chances but it was not enough to beat Johnny,” said Mendoza, who has lost four straight times to Arcilla.

Arcilla started strong, holding serve and breaking Mendoza at 30, for 2-0. An ace in the third game had Johnny up 3-0, and another break and hold got him to 5-0. Mendoza, the country’s top junior netter, finally got to hold serve but Arcilla quickly ended the first set in his next serve.

Mendoza said he still has a lot of work to do, especially on his backhand.

”I keep missing on my backhand. I know I am still young and still have a lot of room for improvement,” he said.

Arcilla will take on seventh seed Alexander Lazaro, who upset third seed Rolando Ruel, 3-6, 6-3, 6-2.

Fourth seed and former finalist Patrick John Tierro also booked a semifinal match against no. 2 Vicente Alberto “Onyok” Anasta. Tierro routed fifth seed Ronard Joven, 6-1, 6-1 while Anasta defeated eighth seek Kim Ivor Saraza, 6-3, 7-6 (1).

In doubles, top seeds Arcilla and Tierro moved to the second round after booting out the Cebu’s Nino Siso and Jun Tabura, 6-2, 6-1.

They will take on Kennex Abadia and Israel Abarquez in the quarterfinals, after the two beat Edward Bacarisas and Nico Peralta, 6-2, 6-1.

Anasta and Joven also moved on after an easy 6-2, 6-4 win over John Altiche and Franklin Encarnacion. They will go up against Juvan Divinagracia and Kyle Parpan, who beat Rollito Litang and Romel Openiano, 6-2, 2-6, 10-1.

The third-seeded team of Lazaro and Ruel overthrew Jacob Lagman and Mendoza in three sets, 5-7, 6-4, 10-7, and will face Leander Lazaro and Almichael Madrid, a 6-3, 6-4, winner over Arcie Mano and Tony Sagansay.

Roel Capangpangan and Saraza also advanced after defeating Amiel Aya-ay and Julrico Pagsiat, 6-3, 4-6, 10-3. They will face the fourth-seeded tandem of Mark Alcoseba and Ken Salvo, who booted out Joshua Cano and Roderick Lazaro, 6-4, 6-2. (PNA)


Copyright © PJ LHUILLIER GROUP OF COMPANIES. All rights reserved