Last Cebuano entry loses in Cebuana Lhuillier Open

By Iste S. Leopoldo
Thursday, April 19, 2012

RISING junior netter Jurence Zosimo Mendoza arranged an early showdown against top seed Johnny Arcilla in today’s quarterfinals of the 5th Cebuana Lhuillier Tennis Circuit at the Baseline Tennis Center.

In a strange showing, Mendoza, the country’s top junior netter, won only one game in the first set but didn’t give up any in the next two sets to boot out No. 13 Anthony Sagasay III, 1-6, 6-0, 6-0, to set up a showdown with defending champion Arcilla, a 6-3, 6-1 winner over 15th seed Leander Lazaro.

Mendoza, 16, is scheduled to leave for the Junior Davis Cup in Australia and will try to end his four-match losing slump against Arcilla. He lost in their first meeting in the second round of the Cebuana Lhuillier tournament last year, before losing in the PCA finals and in the Masters Cup.

“He has improved a lot since the last time we played, dili sad siya ka kompyansa-an,” said Arcilla, a member of the Philippine Davis Cup team.

Arcilla added that this year’s edition is also very challenging because of the court.

“Mental challenge gyud siya,” Arcilla said.

Cebu’s only hope, no. 14 Israel “Rj” Abarquez, is also out after getting eliminated by eighth seed Kim Ivor Saraza, 6-3, 7-6 (1). Saraza was on a mission as he wanted to avenge his loss against Abarquez in Roxas City early this month.

“Nanimalos gyud siya. He was too strong for me today, condition kaayo siya,” said 19-year-old Abarquez, who hails from Carcar City.

Saraza will face second seed Vicente Alberto “Onyok” Anasta, who edged 10th seed Mark Anthony Alcoseba, 6-1,6-4.

Others who advanced to the quarterfinals are no. 3 Rolando Ruel Jr., who beat no. 16 Kenneth Salvo, 6-4,6-2 and will face no. 7 Alexander Lazaro. The seventh seed advanced after Juvan Divinagracia retired in the second seed due to an ankle injury.

Fifth seed Ronard Joven defeated no. 9 Arcia Mano, 6-4,7-6 (3), and will face former finalist Patrick John Tierro, a 6-2, 6-2 winner over no. 11 Roel Capangpangan, 6-2,6-2.

The champion of the Cebuana Lhuillier men’s open will earn P40,000, while the runner-up gets P20,000. The losing semifinalists earn P10,000.

Published in the Sun.Star Cebu newspaper on April 19, 2012.


Copyright © PJ LHUILLIER GROUP OF COMPANIES. All rights reserved