Last Cebuano standing

By Iste S. Leopoldo
Wednesday, April 18, 2012

CEBUANO bets dropped out of the 5th Cebuana Lhuillier Tennis Circuit contention one by one, save one.

Israel Abarquez was the only Cebuano to have hurdled through the first round assignments yesterday at the Baseline Tennis Center.

He defeated Rollyto Litang, 6-3, 6-3, to face no. 8 Kim Ivor Saraza today after he beat wild card entry Stefan Suarez 6-1, 6-1.

Former Junior Davis Cupper Jacob Lagman, who got a direct acceptance after ranking No. 25, could have been the second Cebuano to advance to the second round after a strong performance against No. 7 Alexander Lazaro.

However, Lazaro dug deep into his bag of tricks to pull through and defeat the junior player, 1-6, 6-2, 6-4.

Lazaro will face No. 12 Juvan Divinagracia, who defeated Romel Openiano, 6-4, 6-1.

Another former junior netter, Bernardine Siso, who secured one of the four qualifiers in the 32-man main draw, lost to No. 11 Roel Campangpangan but pushed the latter to a thrilling three-setter, 6-4, 3-6, 6-1, that lasted for almost three hours.

Campangpangan will face the winner between no. 3 Patrick John Tierro and Joshua Cano.

No. 13 Tony Sagansay cruised to the second round after defeating Cebuano Franklin Encarnacion, 1-6, 6-0, 6-2.

Sagansay will face PCA finalist and junior Davis Cupper Jurence Mendoza. Mendoza, who ranked sixth in the tournament, ousted Roy Tabo-Tabo, 6-0, 6-1 during their first round match.

Another Cebuano qualifier Shanur Khandaker, lost to No. 5 Ronard Joven 6-4, 6-2. Joven will play No. 9 Arcie Mano, who won against Yoyoy Villa 6-7 (5), 7-6 (1), 6-1.

Cebu’s Kennex Abadia surrendered to No. 10 Mark Anthony Alcoseba, 7-5, 6-3. Alcoseba will face No. 2 Vicente Alberto “Onyok” Anasta, who beat another Cebuano, Amiel Aya-ay, 6-0, 6-3.

No. 15 Leander Lazaro defeated John Marie Altichie, 6-4, 6-1 and will face the winner between defending champion and country’s no. 1 Johnny Arcilla and Roderick Lazaro.

Published in the Sun.Star Cebu newspaper on April 18, 2012.


Copyright © PJ LHUILLIER GROUP OF COMPANIES. All rights reserved