Local bets dominate Cebuana Lhuillier Tennis Leg in Siquijor

Local bets gave their townmates more reasons to celebrate the town fiesta by winning most of the titles in the recently-concluded Cebuana Lhuillier Age Group Tennis Championship in Siquijor, Siquijor that drew close to a hundred entries even as visiting players Jose Ma. Pague from Buug, Zamboanga Sibugay and Bais City native Angela Cabaral prevented a complete domination by winning two titles apiece.

Under 10 bet Francis Samson started the run for Siquijor by winning his group over townmate Nico Gampal 4 - 1, 4 - 1 with Patrick Lubgoban duplicating it by prevailing over another local bet Ryan Patrick Dimagnoong 6 - 3, 6 - 3 to cop the 12 & Under boys' the tournament supported by Dunlop Sports and hosted by the Siquijor Tennis Club and the Capitol Tennis Club. Siquijor Mayor Mei Ling Quezon also provided all out support to the tournament, making it one of the highlights of the town fiesta celebration.

Pague ruled the 16 & under and 18 & under age groups, defeating Cebu's Marc Nicole Suson 7 - 5 , 6 - 4 in the 16 & Under finals and with an easier 6 - 2 , 6 - 2 victory over Siquijor's Fahd Kenneth Banico for the 18 & under title.

The distaff side had Chizelle Jumawan, also from Siquijor taking the measure of her finals opponent and townmate Ellaine Rose Bahonsua 7 - 6 , 6 - 4 to win the 12 & under title while another local bet, Mariel Ann Villa duplicated it by beating Bahonsua anew, this time for the 14 & under crown, 6 - 3, 6 - 2.

Cabaral retired Dumaguete's Mariepol Lacpao 5 - 0 for the 16 & under title and followed it with a 6 - 2 , 6 - 1 triumph over another Dumaguete native Sharon Mae Bulangis in the 18 & under finale.

" Now more than ever, following the shut-out in tennis in the last Asian Games, there is a need to expand the base of athletes in the sport and this nation-wide age group series is a major step towards discovering new talents, " said Cebuana Lhuillier President/ CEO Jean Henri Lhuillier, who is also the PHILTA Chairman.

The remaining legs in the year-round series are set in Angeles City, Midsayap, North Cotabato, Isulan , Sultan Kudarat, Cebu City, and in Camp Aguinaldo in Quezon City.

Copyright © PJ LHUILLIER GROUP OF COMPANIES. All rights reserved