Duran, Mosqueda wins titles

By MST Sports | Posted on Apr. 27, 2013 at 12:01am | 355 views

Previous leg winner Ma. Delrose Duran of Eastern Samar and Dave Mosqueda emerged double champs at the recent seventh leg of the Cebuana Lhuillier National Age-Group Tennis Series in Mambajao, Camiguin.

Duran made it two in a row over Anjelica Mosqueda, beating the latter 6-3, 6-2 to win the 14-under age group title, and repeating the win, 6-2, 6-3, in their title match for the 16-under age group. Cagayan de Oro bet Mosqueda, likewise, faced the same opponent, Joel Librodo of Gingoog City for the 16-under and 18-under age groups, winning both matches.

Mosqueda was only pushed in the first set of the 16-under game as he won, 6-4, 6-1, to take the crown and had an easier time in the 18-under, defeating Librodo, 6-0, 6-2.

Librodo is expected to come back when the action resumes in his hometown Gingoog City, host of the eighth leg of the series.

Other winners were Surigao’s Rupert Tortal over Ashton Villanueva, 5-3, 2-4, 4-2, for the unisex 10-under group and Cagayan de Oro’s Henry Garcia, who won the boys’ 12-under, disposing of Iligan City’s Anthony Davao, 6-2, 7-5, but failed to win the 14-under age group, where he bowed down to local player Clyde Casino, 0-6, 4-6.

In the distaff side, local bets Blessy Martinez and Bea Macatual met for the 18-under crown, with Martinez posting an easy 6-2, 6- 1 victory to take the title.

The series will run up to December with the final leg scheduled in Cebu City, according to event organizer Mario Craiz.


Copyright © PJ LHUILLIER GROUP OF COMPANIES. All rights reserved