4 kids get UP tennis scholarships



AS part of the tradition of the Cebuana Lhuillier Age Group Tennis Tournaments, UP Men's coach Junjie Guadayo has recruited four Cebuana Lhuillier age group tennis participants to play for the state university this coming school year with a tennis scholarship that includes free accommodation and tuition.

The four players are Joel Librodo of Gingoog City , currently ranked 5 in the 16-and-under boys age category and Palarong Pambansa players Joshua Miranda of Surigao del Sur, Ken Narvasa of Cagayan de Oro City and Angelo Esguerra of Butuan City .
All four players have just graduated from high school and will be attending college at the University of the Philippines in Diliman.

These players have been past competitors that joined the Cebuana Lhuillier Age Group Tennis Tournament Series which is on its sixth year.
This year, the series has over 16 legs that are played throughout Visayas and Mindanao with five of these legs having a Grade 3 event and three of them having a Grade 2 event, the highest for any regional tournament given by the Philippine Lawn Tennis Association or Philta.
Jean Henri Lhuillier, CEO of Cebuana Lhuillier, believes that there is truly a lot of talented players in Mindanao .
The company-sponsored tournament series has discovered world class talents like Nino Alcantara, who was sponsored by Jean Henri and is now playing tennis for Fresno State University in California; and Jeson Patrombon, whose talents were first discovered in the 2007 Cebuana Age Group Tennis Series and is currently in the top ten of the International Tennis Federation Rankings for 18-and-under kids.

The tournaments have helped propel Roxanne Resma and Titan Llavorre to their No. 1 rankings in the 14-and 12-and-under girls category, respectively.
It is also with great pride that this tournament series has helped many kids get tennis scholarships in universities in Manila .
Among the Cebuana Lhuillier Tennis Alumni who have gotten scholarships to study in schools like De La Salle University, Ateneo De Manila University and the University of the Philippines are Nikki De Dios (DLSU), Andre Banate (ADMU), Lance Cinco (UP), Leandro Fernandez (UP), Kent Tac-an (UP), Angel Weigmann (UP), Franklin Encarncacion (UP) and Caesar-Li Silvoza (UP).
All these players did play Cebuana Lhuillier Tennis Tournaments in the past and were given tennis scholarships.

The Cebuana Lhuillier Age Group Tournaments are ongoing for the summer and here is the schedule for the rest of the tournaments: Bohol (April 14-17), Ormoc (April 18-21), Kalibo (April 23-26), Marbel South Cotobato (April 28-30), Kidapawan North Cotobato (May 2-5), Iligan (May 7-10), Marawi (May 12-15), Ozamiz (May 17-20), Tubod (May 23-26), Camiguin (May 28-30), Gingoog City (June1-3) and Cagayan de Oro (June 10-12).
There are also two tournaments in Davao : May 19-22 in Banay-banay, Davao Oriental, and May 28-31 in Davao City .

Copyright © PJ LHUILLIER GROUP OF COMPANIES. All rights reserved