Manila Standard – Cebuana age-group netfest set

By MST Sports | Posted on Feb. 20, 2013 at 12:01am

The 20-leg nationwide Cebuana Lhuillier Age Group Tennis Series opens this Friday at the Kidapawan City Tennis Club courts in Kidapawan City, Cotabato, with competition in five age-group levels.

Sponsored by Cebuana Lhuillier to provide a venue for provincial-based junior tennis players at the grassroots level to earn points for the Philippine Tennis Association national ranking, the series first started in 2006 and has continued to grow through the years.

This year, it features four Group 2 events in Marawi City (April 11 to 16 ), (Butuan City May 1 to 6) Ubay, Bohol (May 21 to 26 ) and Ormoc, Leyte (May 28 to June 1).

“Age-group tennis is part of our advocacy to support and promote Philippine tennis. We see it as an important program for young tennis players, believing they are the future of Philippine tennis,” said Cebuana Lhuillier President /Chief Executive Officer Jean Henri Lhuillier, who is also the team manager of the Philippine Davis Cup team.

The other legs in the 10-month series, where the top-ranked players get a chance to play in the Philippine Columbian Association Open as an incentive, are in Metro Manila on March 9 and 10, and 15 to 17, Iligan City (April 1 to 4), Lanao del Norte (April 6 to 9), Ozamis City (April 17 to 20), Mambajao, Camiguin (April 22 to 25) and Gingoog, Misamis Oriental (April 27 to 30).

Completing the stops are Digos, Davao del Sur (May 5 to 8), Surigao (May 8 to 11) Davao (May 10 to 13), Bais, Negros Oriental (June 2 to 5), Legaspi, Albay (Sept. 13 to 16), Cagayan de Oro (Aug 17 to 18, 24 to 25), Valencia, Bukidnon (Oct. 28 to 31), Midsayap, North Cotabato (Nov. 22 to 25), Isulan, Sultan Kudarat (Nov. 29 to Dec. 2) and Cebu City (Dec. 6 to 9).

Among the products of this series are Iligan City’s Jeson Patrombon, who has made it to the national team, Bukidnon’s Nikki de Dios, now in the United States, Jorou Librado from Gingoog, Ken Narvasa from Cagayan de Oro and Leandro Fernandez from Butuan City.

The series is open to all junior players, even to foreign players, according to organizer and tournament director Mario Craiz.


Copyright © PJ LHUILLIER GROUP OF COMPANIES. All rights reserved